Special Someones – My Haven Conference Experience

Sand Heart HavenDo you remember your first day of school as a high school Freshman?  I remember.  I was nervous…and excited.

The night before my first day, I remember spending a lot of time trying to figure out what to wear.  I lived in Arizona at the time, so it was HOT.  Do I wear a sundress?  No, that’s not right.  Jeans?  No way, sweaty mess.  Shorts?  Yeah, I think shorts is good.  Maybe the pink shorts?  Yeah… pink is good.  Whew!  I have the bottoms figured out.  Now what about a top?  Oh my…Backpack, Folders, Pencils

Is my backpack ready to go?  Notebooks?  Check.  Pencils?  Check.  Class schedule?  Yep.  As I’m digging through my backpack, I wonder who’s going to be in my class?  Will anyone be my friend?  Who will I sit with at lunch?  I’m the new girl.

As with most high schools, several middle schools fed into the high school.  Same for me, except my family had just moved to Arizona and I knew no one.  Not a soul.  I was nervous and then I remembered that no one knew that I didn’t know anyone.  I knew a lot of people would know someone, but no one would know everyone.  There would be a lot of someones and anyones and everyones, but we’d all be new ones to someone.

Are you with me?

Fast forward to my Freshman year of Haven.  Haven 2013.  I’m wearing my cute purple maxi sundress.  Got my tote bag?  Check.  Enough business cards?  Check.  Fun pink lip gloss. Yep.  Wearing a smile?  Sorta.Purple Maxi Dress

And I step onto the Japanese garden for the kickoff cocktail party and there is a sea of new faces.  An ocean of beautiful women… smiling… chatting… cocktailing.  (Cocktailing: Verb | meaning holding a festive drink while smiling and chatting).  There was music and lots of cocktailing.

And off I go.  The new girl.  Hoping to meet everyone or someone or anyone and certainly not no one.

And I did… meet some special someones… while cocktailing and in class and at lunch and eating dinner… who are now a few of my new bloggie friends.

I didn’t take many pictures (I’ve no idea why.), so click on the link to read more about a few of the special someones I met during Haven 2013.  Actually, they are more than special.  They are aaaamazing!  I had a great Haven Freshman experience and I can’t wait until my Sophomore year!

14 thoughts on “Special Someones – My Haven Conference Experience

  1. Love your comparison of Haven to freshman year of high school! It fits perfectly! So honored to be included on your list of pals. Such a joy to meet you and spend some quality conversation time with you, Michele. Hope we can rub shoulders at Haven 2014! Woot woot!

  2. Awwwww…this is such a cute post! It really did feel like starting high school…except with cocktails! Could you imagine if we had cocktails in high school?! It was such a pleasure to meet you and I totally hope we get to see each other for Haven 2014! And maybe share a cab again!!!

  3. Thanks Michele for including me and giving me a shout out. I love that you did that. I am going to have to copy you when I finally post mine. 🙂 Like you, I didn’t take many pics either. Not quite sure why I didn’t. But great post! Great to read your perspective. But I gotta say…I cannot even remember my freshman year. Ha! Thanks again! Look forward to catching up soon. I will work on our Tribe page. 🙂

  4. Thanks so much for including me in your list Michele, you made my day! Haven was such a whirlwind of a weekend, learned a ton but honestly the best part was meeting other bloggers and I am so happy to meet you! I didn’t take many pics either and the ones I took on my phone did not turn out so great, bummer. Let’s keep in touch and hope to see you again next year!!!

  5. Pingback: My First Blog Conference I Haven |

    • Hi Kelly, I totally understand. Ditto on the awww-struck. The few pictures I did take, the lighting was awful so the picture was too. Oh well. There’s always next year.

  6. Pingback: Lessons Learned: My Haven 2013 Experience | two purple couches

Comments