The Funny Adventures of Tuna Noodle Casserole

Here I sit, not feeling so good…not good at all.  There’s my lunch, not eaten, on the dresser.IMG_1811

I was sick at the end of last week through the weekend with a fever, cough, chills and all over blahs. Big blahs. I spent a lot of time in bed and on the couch.  *Ugh*  Luckily for everyone, Mr. Rosey was able to be home to take care of the Girlies… and me.

Saturday morning, Mr. Rosey asked me “What should we have for dinner?” I barely lifted my head off the pillow and opened one eye and was like “Huh?” He had picked up dinner Thursday and Friday night, because I was sick and couldn’t cook. I didn’t think another night of take-out was a great idea, but I still wasn’t moving anywhere near the kitchen. So I thought of the five things Mr. Rosey likes to cook and bingo. “How about making some tuna noodle casserole?  Off he went to the grocery store to pick up the fixin’s for tuna noodle casserole.

When Mr. Rosey moved into his first apartment, his Mom gave him a handwritten book with several recipes that he could cook for himself rather than eating out every night.  Isn’t that awesome? Tuna noodle casserole was one of the recipes, so he’s a master. In fact, it’s one of the recipes he always made when we were dating.  Lots of candlelight tuna noodle casserole dinners in our history.  Let’s all say ahhhhh…

Fast forward 10 years and Mr. Rosey is a little rusty at making tuna noodle casserole. Ok.  Truth.  Very rusty.  He starts preparing the ingredients.  Remember, I’m feverish and flopped on the couch.  He asks me “How do I cut an onion?”  Rusty.DSC03252

{Me} “Uhhh. What do you mean? Use a knife.” I open my eyes and see he pulls out the smallest cutting board and grabs a small knife.  I close my eyes.  I don’t want to watch this. I hear the first couple slices of the onion and then “@*$%@!!!!”.  I open my eyes and ask “What happened?”

{Mr. Rosey} “I nicked my finger.”

{Me}  Even while feverish, the nurse-mom-chief cooker instinct kicks in. “Do you need a band-aid? Make sure you wash the cut? Why don’t you use a bigger knife and cutting board?”

{Mr. Rosey} “No, I”m fine. Grrrr!” I close my eyes. I hear more slices of the onion and then frenetic chopping.  It sounds like a helicopter blade has attacked the onion.  CHOP CHOP CHOP.  I open my eyes again and see Mr. Rosey whacking this poor onion to death.  He’s hunched over the cutting board and it’s obviously Mr. Rosey versus the onion. Who’s gonna win?  I hear more “Grrrr!”

(Sorry for the grainy picture.  I couldn’t get off the couch to get closer, but I had to capture the moment.  Also, please don’t see the mess.  The chief tidier is on the couch, so no one is tidying up the kitchen.)IMG_1815

I close my eyes again and struggle to hold in the hysterical laughter that wants to erupt from my mouth. This – is – NOT – a – good – time – to – laugh.  I roll over, pull the pillow over my head and smother my giggles into the couch cushion.  He can’t hear my laugh and I can’t hear the crazed onion chopping in the kitchen.  It’s a good thing.  ATTENTION:  For all those newly married folks, this is the secret of making a marriage work.  Know when to rollover and laugh into the couch cushion.  Seriously.  We will be married for a gazillion years, because I know the secret.  Now you do too.

Amazingly, all the fixin’s make it into the dish and tuna noodle casserole was served for dinner. It tasted good and I really appreciate that Mr. Rosey made dinner for us.

When Monday morning rolls around, I was feeling a little better and I wanted to tidy up the kitchen and family room.  No tidying was happening while I was in my sick bed. As I’m wiping off the kitchen counters, I keep feeling little bumps on the counter. “What the heck is this?” I start scrubbing and start to smell… onion. Onion?

What the heck?

Oh yes, I remember.  The battle of the onion. I have so many bits of onion all over the counter, on the wall, on the floor from the helicopter chopping.  It’s a wonder that any onion made it into the casserole.

Maybe it didn’t.

Maybe the onion won after all.

One thought on “The Funny Adventures of Tuna Noodle Casserole

  1. Peter, Well done!!! Bravery under fire!!! Purple heart – service under trying conditions!! That’s my boy!! Dad

Comments

