Get Well Pot Roast Soup

DSC03212The weather today can only be called Y-U-C-K-Y. Lots of snow and sleet and wind. Even our dog Lucy won’t go outside and she loves playing outside. After I open the door and she gets a blast of snow and wind in her face, she changes her mind and walks away. I’m right there with ya. I’m perfectly happy to look out the window at the blustery weather, while in my warm, cozy kitchen.

DSC03209

Last week I made pot roast with all the fixin’s. You gotta love a pot roast made in the slow cooker. I do. But that’s a story for another day. Of course, we have half a pot roast left. I always struggle with what the heck do I do with this leftover pot roast? And it sits in the fridge until I figure something out.

Well Little Miss C has a cold. Not a big deal, just some sniffles. Then Mr. Rosey emails me to say that he doesn’t feel well. His muscles ache and he feels terrible. Two sickys in one house means grilled cheese sandwiches and soup for dinner. I used Paula Dean’s pot roast soup recipe as a base and tweaked it to suit my fancy.  Don’t you love it when tweak and fancy are in the same sentence?  Yeah, me too.  And yes I know I should make chicken noodle soup to help everyone feel better, but I have pot roast.

If I do say so myself, this recipe’s a keeper. Now let’s see if everyone magically feels better tomorrow.  Let’s hope.  Let’s.DSC03224

Ingredients

1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 tablespoon butter
1 medium onion, chopped
2 celery stalks, chopped
3 medium carrots, chopped
34 large garlic cloves, chopped
1 ounce dried shiitake mushrooms, rehydrated and sliced
1 teaspoon dried thyme or 1 tablespoon fresh thyme
2 tablespoons sherry
2 cups canned low sodium beef broth (or homemade)
2 cups canned low sodium chicken broth (or homemade)
14.5 ounce can of chopped tomatoes
1 cup of frozen corn
1 cup of frozen peas
1 ½ cups leftover pot roast, shredded into large chunks plus any leftover gravy
Dash of Worcestershire sauce
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
Fresh chopped parsley, for garnish

Directions

Rehydrate the mushrooms by boiling a cup of water. Pour the water over the mushrooms and let them steep for 30-45 minutes. Then slice the mushrooms and strain the mushroom water through a fine sieve to collect the dregs. Save the water, not the dregs. Who wants dregs in your soup? Not me.

Heat oil and butter in a large soup pot over medium heat. Add onions and saute about 5 minutes. Then add the celery, carrots, mushrooms, and sauté until tender and lightly browned, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and thyme and stir until you smell the garlic, for 1 minute. Add sherry and stir up any bits that have stuck to the bottom of the pan. Pour in both broths, tomatoes, mushroom water, gravy and meat. Simmer, stirring occasionally, for about 25 minutes. Add Worcestershire and salt and pepper to taste. I added 1/2 teaspoon of pepper and no salt, because my gravy had plenty of salt from when I cooked the pot roast. Sprinkled with chopped parsley, as a garnish and serve.

DSC03227

Comments

