Cinder

I just finished reading Cinder by Marissa Meyer. It’s the first book in the four-part Lunar Chronicles. Cinder somewhat mirrors the story of Cinderella (Who would’ve guessed that?), with a few twists. Cinder is a cyborg and a darn good mechanic.  Yes, she’s good with power tools instead of singing songs while sweeping a broom.  The evil stepmother is real but not as evil as the lunar Queen, and Prince Kai from New Beijing feels pressure to marry. Those are the main characters and the story begins.  Once upon a time…

It was an entertaining, quick read and I did like it. I figured out a plot twist fairly early on in the book, but that didn’t take away from the story.  I thought it was an imaginative book based on a classic fairy tale.  I would be comfortable with my fourth grader reading this book.  She’s an avid reader, too.  I wonder if Big Sis M would like it and if it would match up to Harry Potter and Percy Jackson.

The second book is called Scarlet and will be released in February. The story continues with Cinder trying to ??? (I don’t want to give away the ending of book 1). (Read this next sentence with an announcer’s voice)  And now entering from stage left… Little Red Riding Hood, another classic fairy tale character.  I’ve put Scarlet on hold at the library already.  And now I’m waiting.  Waiting.  Waiting.  I’m curious to see how the second fairy tale is re-imagined.

Comments

