Life Lessons Day 16: Pick More Daisies

IMG_4547

Daisies overlooking Lake Michigan in South Haven

There is a poem I read in college that still resonates with me today. Each time I read the poem, it’s a reminder to me to live my life in the here and now… to be present with my family… to be spontaneous… to be playful like when the Girlies ask me to play. Don’t get me wrong. There’s value in making plans. You gotta do the laundry, grocery shop, vacuum the floor, and all the other daily necessities. But it’s also important to remember that you get one life to live. Make sure it’s mostly doing things you love with the people you love.

I’d Pick More Daisies by Nadine Stair (age 85 when she wrote the poem)
If I had my life to live over again, I’d make more mistakes next time.
I would relax.
I would limber up.
I would be sillier than I have been this trip.
I would take very few things seriously.
I would take more chances.
I would take more trips.
I would climb more mountains, watch more sunsets, and swim more rivers.
I would eat more ice cream and less beans.
I would perhaps have more actual troubles, but fewer imaginary ones.
You see, I’m one of those people who have been sensible and sane.
Oh, I’ve had my moments and if I had it do over again, I’d have nothing else.
Just moments, one after another, instead of living so many years ahead each day.
I’ve been one of those people who never goes anywhere without a thermometer,
a hot water bottle, a raincoat and a parachute.
If I had it to do over again, I would go places and do things and travel lighter than I have.
If I had my life to live over again, I would go barefoot earlier in the spring
and stay that way later in the fall.
I would go to more dances.
I would ride more merry-go-rounds.
I would pick more daisies.

To read Life Lessons Day 1 through today, just click here.

Comments

