A Word Means A Lot

My word to live by for 2012 is intentional.

I was watching an Oprah Show rerun and she was saying that being intentional is key to success.  She said (and I’m paraphrasing) that you can want to do something, but if you don’t have intent… purpose… you won’t get the result you want.

intentional – done with intention or on purpose; intended: an intentional result

I approach many things in my life with intention.  For Mr. Rosey, my girls, my family and friends, in my volunteer life…if I say I’m going to do something, I do it and I try to do it well.  I am a perfectionist.  (More about the good and bad of perfectionism at a later date).  In my mind, it’s not worth doing, if I’m not going to try ~keyword is try~ to do it well.

Where I fall short is being intentional for myself.  Is that true for you too?  I have the longest list of projects…a super, really long list…that I want to do and I can’t get them done.  It’s soooo frustrating.  I’ve been wanting to sort through the girl’s toys, donate some and organize the rest.  I have stacks upon stacks of pictures / memorabilia / momentos that I want to pull together in a meaningful way.  I want to exercise even once in a while.  I don’t get it done.  Maybe my list is toooooo long?   When on the scale of life, do I work on a photo album or make beds?  Beds win.  Maybe I need to reorder my priority list?  Maybe I need to say “no” more to others and “yes” more to me?  I’m not sure what the answer is.

I do know I want to be intentional… for me.  That’s the perspective I want to embrace for the new year.  I will probably still put others first, because that’s my natural way, but I’m going to try really hard to put myself first more often.  As the flight attendants say during the pre-flight talk “put your oxygen mask on first and then assist others”.  I’ve got my oxygen mask primed and ready to go.  Intentional…  It’s a big word.  I’ll live with it.  I’ll let it speak for me.  It’s mine.

What word is meaningful for you in the new year?  I’d love to know.

One thought on “A Word Means A Lot

  1. Michele,

    I believe most people have problems being “perfect”, and doing things they “should” be doing. I have a similar problem.
    I have been able to stick pretty well to my exercise program, although I sometimes have to “throw myself down the stairs” to do it.
    Have you tried starting out small? If you started out doing something “Small”, maybe 5 or 10 minutes at a time at a time of the day when you have “nothing to lose” and as you find you have the time to do it when you have the time (or make the time), and congratulate yourself for doing “at least that puny amount of time”, and that will be good enough, you may find that you are pleased with yourself and see whether you feel like extending it.
    Give yourself some leeway, and forgive yourself for “screwing up”.

    Love,
    “Dad”

Comments

