Happiness is a Stack of Books in 2011

I love to read.  That wasn’t always the case.  Growing up my Dad would suggest I go read a book when I was bored.  “Blech”, “Are you kidding me?” and “Yuk” were the thoughts that came to mind back then.  But somewhere in my younger adulthood, I discovered the joy of reading.  I truly treasure a good book and feel sad when I’ve read the last page.  Sometimes, I even slow down my reading (Mr. Rosey tells me I’m a fast reader) just to savor the final few pages.  I’ll even go back and reread the final chapter or two, because I don’t want to say goodbye to the characters that seem like new friends.  Tell me you do that too.

I read to relax.  I read to be entertained.  I read to laugh and cry.  I like happy endings.  It’s my way of unwinding at the end of the day, so my brain shuts down so I can sleep.  This assumes I CAN put the book down to catch some ZZZZZ’s.

It seems as though I read a lot of “series” books this year.  I guess if I liked the first book I wanted to know more about the main characters.

So here’s a list of some of the books I read during 2011 that I liked and in no particular order:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – yes again!

Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning – I’d describe this as Twilight meets a band of fairies in Ireland.  I couldn’t put the books down.  My sister aka Aunt Mary couldn’t either.  I knew nothing about this series when I picked up the first one.  The author is a Purdue grad and that was the hook.  Go Boilers!

  • Darkfever
  • Bloodfever
  • Faefever
  • Dreamfever
  • Shadowfever

The Island by Elin Hilderbrand – It is set on Tuckernuck, which is a (fictional?) island off Nantucket.  There is an old, family home, no electricity and a well for water and an escape from their lives at home.  This story shares the lives of a recently divorced mom, her two daughters and her widowed sister.  I laughed a little, cried a little, and I found the relationship between these women intriguing.  I’m going to read more from this author.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett – I couldn’t put this book down either.  It’s well written from each character’s perspective with a little southern twang.  It took me a bit to get used to the dialect, but it was effective in the telling of the story.  Set in Mississippi in the 1960’s, it weaves the lives of several black and white women as friends and as employees/employers.


The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins – A story about a great heroine, Katniss, with strength, intelligence and perseverance.  You go girl!  Thanks Lillian for putting this on your book reading list or I wouldn’t have checked them out.

  • The Hunger Games
  • Catching Fire
  • Mocking Jay

The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon – This is a love story set in Scotland in both the 20th and 18th century….hmmm?  Read them to figure it out.  There are 3 more books, so they are on my 2012 reading list.  Thanks Mimi for recommending these books.

  • The Outlander
  • Dragonfly in Amber
  • Voyager
  • Drums of Autumn

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Series by Steig Larson – There are kinda creepy parts, but with a complex heroine that I kept rooting for.  The storyline sucked me in.  Aunt Judy gets a high-five for this recommendation.  Mr. Rosey and cousin Patty read them too.

  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
  • The Girl Who Played with Fire
  • The Girl Who Kicked with Hornets

Something Borrowed Series by Emily Griffin – I laughed and laughed.  She has a very witty writing style and it helps that I lived on the east coast for a bit and have seen a little bit of NYC.  My Dad laughed too when he read the books.

  • Something Borrowed
  • Something Blue


What’s in the queue for 2012?  Yes I know you’re wondering.  I always have a bunch of books just waiting to be read.  When we bought new bedroom furniture this year, I said I wanted a big nightstand and Mr. Rosey said “So you can pile more books on there.”  And I said “Ahh… nooooo.”

Books on my nightstand

Well….maybe…  Yes, Mr. Rosey is one smart cookie.  He knows me well.  What books did you love in 2011?  What’s on your reading list for the new year?

Comments

