It’s a beginning…

This is the beginning of a journey for me.  A journey where I can share the projects I complete to create a lovely home for our family or a delicious recipe or a good book that I’ve read or a milestone one of our girls has reached or a thought for the day or a special moment in our life.  I want to share the stepping stones and the stumbling blocks of Our Rosey Life.  I want to see my evolution as a mom, as a wife to Mr. Rosey, and as a woman.

We are a society that defines someone by what they do. Having been in the corporate world for 20+ years and having achieved a high level of success in my career, it was a huge adjustment for me to be a stay-at-home mom.  As a stay-at-home mom, what I do is cooking, cleaning, laundry, driving kids from point A to point B and then back again, grocery shopping, picking toys up, putting kids in time-out, giving them hugs when the time-out is over, making beds, emptying the dishwasher, combing hair into ponytails …and on it goes.  Day after day after day.  There is no promotion.  There is no paycheck – at least not monetary.  I can’t say that I’m a Vice President of blah blah blah corporation and that’s ok.  I know I am blessed.  I know that what I do as a stay-at-home mom is more valuable, more rewarding, more challenging, and more fulfilling than when I could say I was a Vice President of a multi-national financial institution.  I know that what I do makes a huge difference in the lives of our family.

Our Rosey family loving a Lake Michigan sunset

With the daily list of mundane activities, I sometimes wonder what am I achieving?  Am I making any progress on my to-do list, my life list, my dream list?  It’s hard to jump for joy after putting away the clean dishes from the dishwasher and then turning to load dirty dishes from the sink back into the dishwasher.  There are a lot of repetitive tasks day after day.

That being said, I do find great joy in homemaking and motherhood as a whole.  I could do without matching freshly, laundered socks for the millionth time or picking up goldfish and gum wrappers from the car floor for the thousandth time.  But it’s all part of our Rosey life – flowers and thorns.  I love my life and am blessed to have two beautiful little girls, a supportive and loving Mr. Rosey and a great home to care for.

Mr. Rosey and the girls watching a sunset

So this is the story of this season of my life.  I want to complete a project and celebrate it’s doneness.  I want to create beautiful things and enjoy them.  I want to challenge myself.  I want to record the simple and special happenings of our life.  I want to be imaginative and playful.  I want to rejoice in our life.  I want to grow and learn.  I want to be an inspiration.  I want to be inspired.  I want to be true.  Welcome to my journey.

Michele

Comments

